Random New York: Watson the Parrot

Since this is the first post on this blog, I thought I’d start as I mean to go on – by observing random things about life in New York that will give you a sense of what it’s really like.

In August, I’m due to move to New York from London, to take up a new job in Manhattan. This blog will chronicle this new chapter in my life. To be honest, right now I’m bricking myself (as we say in the UK) about the move. There is so much to organize – and it’s such a step into the unknown…

I have to remind myself of why I’m doing this – and fortunately Watson the parrot came to the rescue. Let me explain. I just got back from a short trip to NYC to help familiarize myself before I move over.

While I was wandering round the streets of Gramercy on a sunny Saturday, a random chap walked right past me carrying this parrot as if it was the most natural thing in the world. He was kind enough to introduce me to ‘Watson’ and to let me take a photo. It struck me at the time that however random London can be (and I’d say a voodoo woman using an umbrella on the Tube to curse me counted as pretty frickin random), New York definitely has the edge.

Following my meeting with Watson, a random kid on roller skates high-fived me in the street before I accidentally stumbled into the filming of a new movie, Lullaby. Overheard in New York features some great lines that have been overheard in the City. In this blog, I’d like to capture that same kind of randomness – New York seen through British eyes. Watch this space!

This entry was posted in Random New York and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

